Purva Phalguni Nakshatra – 13° 20′ to 26° 30′ Leo ’

The eleventh lunar mansion resides entirely within the body of Leo the Lion. Called “the former reddish one,” it consists of two stars, Leonis and Zosma, found at the rear flank of the Lion. Purva Phalguni means the “fruit of the tree.” It is also known as Pubba. It is represented by a swinging hammock representing rest and recuperation. Its deity is Bhaga, the God of good fortune and prosperity. Bhaga protects marital happiness and bestows family inheritance. Lord Shiva started on his marriage procession under this star. The Shiva … Continue reading

Magha Nakshatra – 0° 00’to 13° 20’Leo

■ The tenth nakshatra, Magha, resides entirely within the constellation of Leo the Lion. It is composed of a sickle-shaped group of six stars. The brightest is the fixed star Regulus, which is said to be one hundred times as luminous as the Sun. Magha means “the mighty one” or “the great” and is located near the forehead of the Lion. Its symbol is a palanquin, the royal seat upon which the king was carried through the towns he ruled. The ruling planet of Magha is Kelu, with the Sun … Continue reading

Ashlcsha Nakshatra – 16° 40′ to 30° 00′ Cancer

The mystical ninth nakshatra, Ashlesha also resides entirely within the sign of Cancer. It consists of a circle of six stars in the constellation of Hydra, the female water snake. Ashlesha means “the entwiner.” It is called “the clinging star” with a desire “to embrace” or “entangle” the object upon which it is focused. This lunar mansion is symbolized by a coiled snake and its deity is Ahi, the naga or serpent of wisdom. Its primary motivation is dharma. Ashlesha represents the kundaiini or serpent fire that is located at the base … Continue reading

Pushya Nakshatra – 3° 20′ to 16° 40′ Cancer

The eighth nakshatra, Pushya, resides entirely within the sign of Cancer, the Crab. It is seen as a triangle of three faint stars (north and south Aselli and star cluster M44). It is pictured in the sky as two donkeys or “little asses” feeding in the manger or “the crib” in which Jesus once lay. Pushya means “to nourish” or “providing nourishment.” This lunar mansion is symbolized by the udder of a cow. The sign of Cancer, ruled by the Moon, also represents the maternal aspect of providing milk and … Continue reading

Punarvasu Nakshatra – 20″ 00′ Gemini to 3° 20′ Cancer

The seventh lunar mansion is named Punarvasu. This auspicious nakshatra resides primarily in the constellation of Gemini, the Twins. In consists of five stars, including Castor and Pollux. The last pada of Punarvasu is placed in Cancer, the Crab. The ruling planet is Jupiter, although a strong Mercury influence is experienced in the first three padas, which are placed in the sign of Gemini. The combination of Mercury and Jupiter can produce great intellectual and spiritual wisdom. The Indian saint Ramana Maharshi had his natal Moon placed in Punarvasu. The … Continue reading

Ardra Nakshatra – 6° 40’to 20° 00’Gemini

The sixth nakshatra is named Ardra. It resides entirely within the sign of Gemini, the Twins. Ardra is the bright star Betelgeuse in the constellation of Orion. It is also associated with the fixed star Sirius. Ardra is symbolized by a human head, reflecting the emphasis on the mind or thinking capacity. Although its ruling planet is Rahu, Mercury’s rulership of Gemini is also prominent throughout this lunar mansion. Thus, a deep feeling nature combined with passionate thinking may be experienced in Ardra. The presiding deity is Rudra, the lord … Continue reading

Mrigashira Nakshatra – 23° 20′ Taurus to 6° 40′ Gemini

The fifth nakshatra, Mrigashira, is evenly divided within the constellations of Taurus and Gemini. It consists of three faint stars near the head of Orion. This lunar mansion is called “the searching star,” marking the “beginning of a search.” The ruling planet is Mars, reflecting the spiritual warrior searching for truth. The great Vedic astrologer from India Dr. B.V. Raman and his astrologer son Niranjan Babu both have their natal Moons placed in this auspicious asterism. Spiritual intelligence and research abilities are refined here. Mrigashira is considered devic or god-like … Continue reading

Rohini Nakshatra – J0“ 001 to 23° 20′ Taurus

The fourth nakshatra is named Rohini. It is placed entirely within the constellation of Taurus the Bull. The Moon is in its mulatrikona sign in Rohini and also rules this lunar mansion. Beauty, sensuality, charisma and charm can be reflected here. Its primary motivation, though, is moksha or spiritual liberation. According to Dr. B.V. Raman, Sri Krishna had both his Lagna (Ascendant) and natal Moon residing in Rohini.1 The ruling deity is Brahma, the creator of the universe. Thus, tremendous creativity and gifts in the fine arts can result with planets … Continue reading

Krittika Nakshatra – 26° 40′ Aries to 10° 00′ Taurus

The third nakshatra, Krittika, resides in the constellations of the Ram and the Bull. The first pada (3° 20’J is in Aries, with the remaining ten degrees in Taurus. The Sun is the ruling planet of this lunar mansion. Thus, in the first pada, a Sun/Mars dynamic is experienced due to the waning Aries influence. Leadership, authority, and power may result. President Bill Clinton’s natal Moon is placed here. The astronomical location of this lunar mansion is in the constellation of the Pleiades. The six brightest stars of the Pleiades … Continue reading

Bharani Nakshatra – 13° 20′ to 26° 40′ Aries

The second of the 27 nakshatras is named Bharani, which also resides entirely within the sign of Aries the Ram, ruled by Mars. The lunar mansion itself is ruled by Venus. Thus, a Mars/Venus interaction of energy is experienced by planets which inhabit or transit this asterism. The union of the feminine (Venus) and masculine (Mars) reflects the creative potential which is experienced here. Bharani is a conduit or channel for artistic gifts and talents. The symbol for this nakshatra is a yoni, the organ of female reproduction. A vessel … Continue reading