Uttara Ashadha Nakshatra – 26° 40′ Sagittarius to 10° 00’ Capricorn

The twenty-first nakshatra is Uttara Ashadha, consisting of two stars in the breast of the Archer. Uttara Ashadha has one pada in Sagittarius and three in Capricorn. Ruled by the Sun, its symbol is an elephant’s tusk, reflecting Ganesha’s blessing on our activities. Another symbol is the planks of a bed, which symbolize the securing of rest and peace. Called the “universal star,” this asterism reflects deep humanitarian concern and fairness to all races. Abraham Lincoln had his natal Moon in this nakshatra. Uttara Ashadha is ruled by the Universal … Continue reading

Purva Ashadha Nakshatra – 13” 20′ to 26° 40′ Sagittarius

The twentieth nakshatra, Purva Ashadha resides entirely within the constellation of Sagittarius and consists of two stars (Kaus Borealis and Kaus Australis) which form the archer’s how. The stars were thought to look like a fan or winnowing hasket which is used for ridding corn of its husks. The ruling planet is Venus, reflecting the popularity (the person’s name is fanned around a lot) of this asterism. Jupiter rules the sign of Sagittarius which is connected with the elephant headed God, Ganesha. Purva Ashadha means “the undefeated” or “unsubdued” and … Continue reading

Mula Nakshatra – 0° 00’ to 13° 20′ Sagittarius

The nineteenth nakshatra, Mula represents the beginning of the last group of nakshatras, which reflect a sattwic or spiritual orientation. Mula translates as “the root” and is symbolized by a tied bunch of roots. It is also depicted as “the tail of a lion” and is located in a group of stars that form the scorpion’s tail. This star constellation is near the serpent holder or Ophiuchus which marks the galactic center. It marks the end of materialism and the beginning of spiritualization. Mula is also called the “root star,” “the original … Continue reading

Jyeshtha Nakshatra – 16° 40’ to 30° 00′ Scorpio

The eighteenth lunar mansion is Jyeshtha which contains the brilliant red star, Antares, which is located near the heart of the Scorpion. Antares literally means the rival of Mars, because they are often confused with each other. It is located in the sign of Scorpio which is also ruled by Mars. A combination of power, independence and a sense of danger are experienced here. Jyeshtha translates as the “chief’ star, “senioimosf’ or the “eldest.” Jyeshtha symbolizes that which has seniority in many ways; the oldest, the most powerful, the most … Continue reading

Anuradha Nakshatra – 3° 20′ to 16° 40′ Scorpio

The seventeenth nakshatra, Anuradha contains three stars in the body of the Scorpion. In this constellation lies the star Alpha Centauri, which is the closest star to our solar system. The stars of Anuradha are depicted as a staff or a row of offerings to the Gods. Its primary symbol is a lotus flower, which reflects the ability and perseverance to blossom in the midst of life’s trials and tribulations. The ruling planet is Saturn, which reveals the spiritual challenges to be faced in Anuradha. This lunar mansion resides entirely … Continue reading

Vishakha Nakshatra – 20° 00′ Libra to 3° 20′ Scorpio

The sixteenth lunar mansion is named Vishakha, the “star of purpose.” It resides primarily in the constellation of Libra and consists of four stars forming the scales while extending toward the sign of the Scorpion. This nakshatra is thus called “the forked” or “two branched.” Vishakha is sometimes represented by an image of a large tree with spreading branches providing protection for others. It also suggests one who slowly grows in influence and can produce great fruit as one ripens with age. It is also known as Radha, “the delightful” … Continue reading

Swati Nakshatra – 6° 40′ to 20° 00′ Libra

The fifteenth nakshatra is called Swati, which resides entirely with the sign of Libra, the scales. It is primarily located near the golden star Arcturus, the brightest single star in the constellation Bootis. Swati means “the sword” and reflects a strong desire for independence. A sweet spoken, virtuous and compassionate nature is cultivated here. Called the “self-going” star, it is pictured as a young single shoot blown by the wind. Swati people have an ability to “bend with the wind” in order to survive the forces of change which they … Continue reading

Chitra Nakshatra – . 23° 20’Virgo to 6° 40’Libra

Chitra, the “star of opportunity,” is beautifully reflected by the fixed star, Spica. It is symbolized by a bright jewel or pearl representing the divine spirit within us. Chitra means “the brilliant,” “the bright,” or “the beautiful.” It reflects the many, variegated colors seen in the radiance of a white star. Chitra also translates as a painting or work of art suggesting “pretty pictures” or something pleasing to look at. Artistic talent and ability to arrange things creatively is observed here. Chitra people are usually attractive, charismatic and possess dynamic … Continue reading

Hasta Nakshatra – 10° 00’to 23° 20’Virgo

The thirteenth nakshatra is named Hasta and resides entirely within the constellation of the Virgin. Symbolized by a hand, Hasta consists of five stars (fingers) corresponding to the constellation of Corvus, the crow. It is observed in the sky as an open hand giving blessings to humanity. The ruling planet is the Moon, with Mercury ruling the sign of Virgo. Thus, a strong mental nature resulting in creative intelligence and good speech can occur. Mercury is exalted in this lunar mansion. Purity of thought and deed with the power of … Continue reading

Uttara Phalguni Nakshatra – 26° 40’Leo to 10° 00’Virgo

The twelfth nakshatra, Uttara Phalguni resides in two fixed stars at the tail of the Lion but extends into the constellation of Virgo. Called the “latter reddish one,” it is ruled by the Sun and has a strong Mercury influence in its last three padas. The first pada (3° 20′) is located in Leo, ruled by the Sun, which can bring tremendous opportunities for growdh and creative expansion. The successful movie director Oliver Stone has both his natal Sun and Mercury’ in this pada. This segment of Uttara Phalguni helps … Continue reading