Anuradha Nakshatra – 3° 20′ to 16° 40′ Scorpio

The seventeenth nakshatra, Anuradha contains three stars in the body of the Scorpion. In this constellation lies the star Alpha Centauri, which is the closest star to our solar system. The stars of Anuradha are depicted as a staff or a row of offerings to the Gods. Its primary symbol is a lotus flower, which reflects the ability and perseverance to blossom in the midst of life’s trials and tribulations. The ruling planet is Saturn, which reveals the spiritual challenges to be faced in Anuradha. This lunar mansion resides entirely … Continue reading

Vishakha Nakshatra – 20° 00′ Libra to 3° 20′ Scorpio

The sixteenth lunar mansion is named Vishakha, the “star of purpose.” It resides primarily in the constellation of Libra and consists of four stars forming the scales while extending toward the sign of the Scorpion. This nakshatra is thus called “the forked” or “two branched.” Vishakha is sometimes represented by an image of a large tree with spreading branches providing protection for others. It also suggests one who slowly grows in influence and can produce great fruit as one ripens with age. It is also known as Radha, “the delightful” … Continue reading

Swati Nakshatra – 6° 40′ to 20° 00′ Libra

The fifteenth nakshatra is called Swati, which resides entirely with the sign of Libra, the scales. It is primarily located near the golden star Arcturus, the brightest single star in the constellation Bootis. Swati means “the sword” and reflects a strong desire for independence. A sweet spoken, virtuous and compassionate nature is cultivated here. Called the “self-going” star, it is pictured as a young single shoot blown by the wind. Swati people have an ability to “bend with the wind” in order to survive the forces of change which they … Continue reading

Chitra Nakshatra – . 23° 20’Virgo to 6° 40’Libra

Chitra, the “star of opportunity,” is beautifully reflected by the fixed star, Spica. It is symbolized by a bright jewel or pearl representing the divine spirit within us. Chitra means “the brilliant,” “the bright,” or “the beautiful.” It reflects the many, variegated colors seen in the radiance of a white star. Chitra also translates as a painting or work of art suggesting “pretty pictures” or something pleasing to look at. Artistic talent and ability to arrange things creatively is observed here. Chitra people are usually attractive, charismatic and possess dynamic … Continue reading

Hasta Nakshatra – 10° 00’to 23° 20’Virgo

The thirteenth nakshatra is named Hasta and resides entirely within the constellation of the Virgin. Symbolized by a hand, Hasta consists of five stars (fingers) corresponding to the constellation of Corvus, the crow. It is observed in the sky as an open hand giving blessings to humanity. The ruling planet is the Moon, with Mercury ruling the sign of Virgo. Thus, a strong mental nature resulting in creative intelligence and good speech can occur. Mercury is exalted in this lunar mansion. Purity of thought and deed with the power of … Continue reading

Uttara Phalguni Nakshatra – 26° 40’Leo to 10° 00’Virgo

The twelfth nakshatra, Uttara Phalguni resides in two fixed stars at the tail of the Lion but extends into the constellation of Virgo. Called the “latter reddish one,” it is ruled by the Sun and has a strong Mercury influence in its last three padas. The first pada (3° 20′) is located in Leo, ruled by the Sun, which can bring tremendous opportunities for growdh and creative expansion. The successful movie director Oliver Stone has both his natal Sun and Mercury’ in this pada. This segment of Uttara Phalguni helps … Continue reading

Purva Phalguni Nakshatra – 13° 20′ to 26° 30′ Leo ’

The eleventh lunar mansion resides entirely within the body of Leo the Lion. Called “the former reddish one,” it consists of two stars, Leonis and Zosma, found at the rear flank of the Lion. Purva Phalguni means the “fruit of the tree.” It is also known as Pubba. It is represented by a swinging hammock representing rest and recuperation. Its deity is Bhaga, the God of good fortune and prosperity. Bhaga protects marital happiness and bestows family inheritance. Lord Shiva started on his marriage procession under this star. The Shiva … Continue reading

Magha Nakshatra – 0° 00’to 13° 20’Leo

■ The tenth nakshatra, Magha, resides entirely within the constellation of Leo the Lion. It is composed of a sickle-shaped group of six stars. The brightest is the fixed star Regulus, which is said to be one hundred times as luminous as the Sun. Magha means “the mighty one” or “the great” and is located near the forehead of the Lion. Its symbol is a palanquin, the royal seat upon which the king was carried through the towns he ruled. The ruling planet of Magha is Kelu, with the Sun … Continue reading

Ashlcsha Nakshatra – 16° 40′ to 30° 00′ Cancer

The mystical ninth nakshatra, Ashlesha also resides entirely within the sign of Cancer. It consists of a circle of six stars in the constellation of Hydra, the female water snake. Ashlesha means “the entwiner.” It is called “the clinging star” with a desire “to embrace” or “entangle” the object upon which it is focused. This lunar mansion is symbolized by a coiled snake and its deity is Ahi, the naga or serpent of wisdom. Its primary motivation is dharma. Ashlesha represents the kundaiini or serpent fire that is located at the base … Continue reading

Pushya Nakshatra – 3° 20′ to 16° 40′ Cancer

The eighth nakshatra, Pushya, resides entirely within the sign of Cancer, the Crab. It is seen as a triangle of three faint stars (north and south Aselli and star cluster M44). It is pictured in the sky as two donkeys or “little asses” feeding in the manger or “the crib” in which Jesus once lay. Pushya means “to nourish” or “providing nourishment.” This lunar mansion is symbolized by the udder of a cow. The sign of Cancer, ruled by the Moon, also represents the maternal aspect of providing milk and … Continue reading